MENU
MENUCLOSE
Wrekin College

BUSINESS STUDIES AND ECONOMICS

Business Studies and Economics are taught at GCSE and A Level. A large proportion of pupils go on to study Business or a related subject at university.

As well as using course text books and fulfilling all the written demands of the course, pupils opting for these subjects are expected to closely follow current affairs, read a daily newspaper and The Economist, watch business programmes on television and use appropriate websites. The aim is to ensure that pupils become actively involved in the subject and to encourage them to think about identifying and solving business and economic problems. These are constantly changing 'living subjects' that are both challenging and exciting.

Staff

Head of Department

Andrew Hurd

BSc Loughborough University 

ahurd@wrekincollege.com

       

(In post from Sept 2016)

Mark Easter

 

measter@wrekincollege.com

       

Head of Bayley House

Ian Williamson

BA University of Hull

iwilliamson@wrekincollege.com

       

 

Kirsty Davies

BSc University of Keele

kdavies@wrekincollege.com

       
Accounting Antony Knight BSc (Hons), University of Warwick,
Dip PFS, F.I.A.
aknight@wrekincollege.com
       

Head of Careers

Kirsty Cusack

BSc, MSc University College London; DIC, PhD
Imperial College London

kcusack@wrekincollege.com

The teachers have a wealth and variety of experience both in education and the commercial world. This expertise enables the department to offer a holistic approach to the subjects from both from a theoretical and commercial point of view.

Full details of the curriculum are available in the Sixth Form Curriculum guide.